CHARLOTTE STREET FOUNDATION STUDIO RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Charlotte Street Foundation identifies the needs and fuels the evolution of an ever-changing multidisciplinary arts ecosystem, acting as its primary provocateur. We cultivate the contemporary, the exceptional, and the unexpected in the practice of artists working in and engaging with the Kansas City Art Community

Response poems – sometimes they’re necessary

So I wrote a response poem, I won’t even say it was a good poem but rather a knee jerk response. It was something I needed, a bit of therapy I suppose.

I have read it twice in the last week at places because I guess I needed that.

I wrote it because a man told me I seemed angry in this poem https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=879626902198244&id=252755928218681. He told me to “move on to a higher plane”.

He tuned into a radio show and heard it. The radio show (which aired last Friday on Central Standard KCUR) featured me for a full hour, started with a poem I wrote about my mother as a super hero, talked about my service, compassion, ministry, prayer, love, family, “the talk”, my ratchetry lol, etc. It painted a portrait of me if you will.

Of this whole hour long show this man felt the need to reach out to me through my website regarding 45 seconds of a 3 minute poem played during an hour long show.

Because the performance was pointedly angry towards the end about rape and the ignored intersectionality and diversity of its victims.

I cannot get over the fact he told me to “move on to a higher plane”. As if telling survivors of sexual assault to move on isn’t insult enough but to project that a person giving an emotional response is not on the correct plane or is somehow lower than you or …. IDK … Just … IDK

Art is the tool God gave me to move on with.

I ministered to myself with this.

I don’t know any other way to live than this.

Survivors deal, suppress, reppress, move forward, move with and continue on their own terms.

His response … all one sentence of it … is still messing with me.

It reminds me how many of him are out there.

It reminds me how far …
we haven’t come.

~Shao

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2018 by in Uncategorized.

Charlotte Street Foundation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,793 other subscribers