CHARLOTTE STREET FOUNDATION STUDIO RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Charlotte Street Foundation identifies the needs and fuels the evolution of an ever-changing multidisciplinary arts ecosystem, acting as its primary provocateur. We cultivate the contemporary, the exceptional, and the unexpected in the practice of artists working in and engaging with the Kansas City Art Community

Resident Check-In: Arnold Young

What is your artistic medium?

Primarily music performance & composition.

What do you hope to explore in your art during your time at Charlotte Street?

the group dynamic between the members of my group, the RoughTet.

In what ways do you utilize your space for your art practice?

I use the space for composing, practicing and rehearsing my group.

Walk us through a typical day in your studio…

I go in a little early to work on compositions and organize written music & set up my drum set if necessary. Then my group arrives and we rehearse/learn new pieces & practice improvisation.

What is the first piece of art you remember grabbing your attention? At what age? Why do you think it did?

God, I don’t know…maybe my mother’s records and also I was attracted to visual art at an early age …2 to 3 years old.

Whose studio do you find yourself wandering to in your downtime?

I regularly walk through the various studios checking out the work.

What are your plans post-residency?

Hopefully to find a space where my group & I can work, to continue the growth of my group’s music.

 

About jamespmcnamara

I'm a poet who lives in Kansas City, Missouri. I'm currently and always working on new idras. Anybody wanna buy some? You should. I've been told by a few folks that aren't my mom that it's pretty good.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2017 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .

Charlotte Street Foundation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,793 other subscribers