CHARLOTTE STREET FOUNDATION STUDIO RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Charlotte Street Foundation identifies the needs and fuels the evolution of an ever-changing multidisciplinary arts ecosystem, acting as its primary provocateur. We cultivate the contemporary, the exceptional, and the unexpected in the practice of artists working in and engaging with the Kansas City Art Community

bongo chix & scary stories

Hey guys, good news! We finished “Stoned Acid Freaks.” This is a collaboration between me and Rachel Mesplay Helm. It’s online and also available on limited edition VHS.

feed_bongobone_0000000001_X1_0017

I’m really proud of it, also the copy I wrote for the VHS: it’s my dream to be a copywriter and blurb my favorite stuff, like liquid aminos & white-out. If you’re the editor of a fun and frivolous catalog, hmu. I’ll have the VHS & other stuff for sale (shirts, buttons, li’l guys, etc.) at Open Studios weekend, April 28th & 29th.

21A1A7C2-11C2-4971-8FE1-F614503AAC98

While we had everything set up, we went ahead and made that piss tape everyone’s been dying to see. Here’s the video. It’s NSFW.

I just got back from Baltimore for Baltimore PMF VIII. I forget what PMF stands for: Periodicals & Multiples Fest? Prints & Magazines Fair? Something like that. It was fun & weird & overall very inspiring. I went with Olivia Gibb. She’s a fun chick and an art monster! Check out her stuff! She also inspired me to make ceramics, so my next update should include lots of brown mermaids & “experimental” incense holders, ha-ha.

Baltimore is super cool! My friend Lee Heinemann is out there doing really, really cool stuff, he is so smart, OMG! Check out the Contemporary Museum & Get Your Life productions. I’m happy I know so many cool creative people! Did I mention all my stuff is printed at Oddities Prints, and that my VHS were dubbed with the good help of Kendell Harbin & her amazing Cry Now VHS video library?!

I also started writing a self-help book, “How to Live Fabulously When You Just Want to Die,” but it’s a bigger project than I anticipated. Who knew I had so many life hacks?

selfhelp
The nice thing about not making any money making art is that you (I) can do whatever I want, whenever I want. Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about CELEBRITY and HORROR, two things I’d really like to write about when I’m not writing the side of a cereal box. I’d like to read a book about what it’s like to be extravagantly famous, maybe from the POV of Kim Kardashian-West or Oprah Winfrey. Also I’d like to write a book that scares me. I’ve been working on my author photo…. what do you guys think!?!

6532 - 01 A

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2017 by in Uncategorized.

Charlotte Street Foundation

1-816-221-5115

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

