CHARLOTTE STREET FOUNDATION STUDIO RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Charlotte Street Foundation identifies the needs and fuels the evolution of an ever-changing multidisciplinary arts ecosystem, acting as its primary provocateur. We cultivate the contemporary, the exceptional, and the unexpected in the practice of artists working in and engaging with the Kansas City Art Community

No time to waste

PJH Patreon March 2017

Poet Jen Harris here!

WoW! 6 months into my Charlotte Street poet-in-residence (residency) and here’s what I’ve accomplished thus far, due in large part to the studio space CS provides to give me room to experiment and create at full capacity!

  • Written, produced and performed Lust and Disdain for sold out audiences at The Outburst Performance Gallery
  • Joined the LikeMe Lighthouse board of directors to further the involvement of KC’s queer artists in brick-and-mortar social justice endeavors.
  • An explosion of freelance writing projects, ghost writing, book editing etc.
  • Published in 2 anthologies
  • In process of completing 2nd book of poetry, prose and essays – due out June 2017
  • Started a Vlog
  • Traveled to Texas to perform on my dream stage: Write About Now

People often remark on how busy I am, how they are astounded at the amount of events I attend/host, how often I travel and the chaotic schedule of performances and projects I juggle…and I never really know what to say but here’s what I’m always thinking. My parents, Kim & Jim, told me from a very young age that I should cherish every minute I’m breathing. They fought against every possible odd to give me a chance to ask myself what I WANTED out of life, not just what I NEEDED. I see hundreds of people in a week just trying to obtain and maintain their most basic needs. Me too. But my perspective is never really focused on need. I started with nothing and I’ve restarted with nothing many times. I do not need much. I’ve earned what I have in this world and what I value most is freedom. Freedom to chose how I live, what and who I dedicate my time to, freedom to be fulfilled. When I die, I need it to be impossible to catalogue all of my adventures. I need to know that the love I left behind filled a stadium, a country, a globe. While I am alive, I want to write every truth and celebrate every person, every opportunity. I was made by love. I am full of love. I love being alive. I have faith that I am fulfilling my purpose. I believe it’s possible to be recklessly happy. There’s simply no time to waste.

If you see value in art and artists please become my patron: www.patreon.com/poetjenharris 

ENJOY THE VLOG! Subscribe on Youtube for upcoming videos!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2017 by in Uncategorized.

Charlotte Street Foundation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,427 other followers

