CHARLOTTE STREET FOUNDATION STUDIO RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Charlotte Street Foundation identifies the needs and fuels the evolution of an ever-changing multidisciplinary arts ecosystem, acting as its primary provocateur. We cultivate the contemporary, the exceptional, and the unexpected in the practice of artists working in and engaging with the Kansas City Art Community

Baby’s First Blog

Hello, everyone! Welcome to blog!

I’m James and I am here to help poetry the hallways of the 6th floor. In general, it’s considered ill advised to allow me to poetry indoors. I am messy, barefoot to an unsettling degree, and speak to myself in a very critical manner a bit too loudly. You can take the boy out the bus stop but can’t take the bus stop out the boy…or something. So, it has been quite an honor for the good folks at Charlotte Street Foundation to bring me on board and haunt the hallways for a few hours a week. I promise to rattle the chains at a reasonable volume, you can hold me to it if you want.

I suppose I should tell you about THE WORK. I, primarily, write poetry but have been known to work in other literary mediums such as playwrighting, micro-nonfiction narratives, and music blogging. And I’ve only been yelled at on the internet twice. I’m affable that way.

I wanted to make this first blog about what haircut I should get this week, but I think that might be putting too much on your lap as an introduction. I don’t like people to feel pressured so early in a relationship. I’m a slow dime kind of fella and we’re a few posts out from me even comfortably asking if I can borrow your lighter. So instead of my forking over a little autonomy to a group of internet strangers, I’ll embed a link to my current spoken word electronic group, Talking @. It’s produced by the astounding Boomiko of Dreamalous Sound Agency. She’s great at music and patient with me.

Lucky me. Lucky you.

 

About jamespmcnamara

I'm a poet who lives in Kansas City, Missouri. I'm currently and always working on new idras. Anybody wanna buy some? You should. I've been told by a few folks that aren't my mom that it's pretty good.

One comment on “Baby’s First Blog

  1. jdoublep
    October 14, 2016

    Reblogged this on Devious Bloggery.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Charlotte Street Foundation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,427 other followers

