CHARLOTTE STREET FOUNDATION STUDIO RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Charlotte Street Foundation identifies the needs and fuels the evolution of an ever-changing multidisciplinary arts ecosystem, acting as its primary provocateur. We cultivate the contemporary, the exceptional, and the unexpected in the practice of artists working in and engaging with the Kansas City Art Community

First Quarter Reflection

Hello everybody.  My name is Neil Goss.  I am one of the 24 talented artists currently residing at the Charlotte Street Foundation.  We are a diverse group of individuals consisting of aural, lingual and visual artists.  I am honored to be a part of this residency and intend to make wonderful things happen during my year here.

I would like to first say, oh my god. I can’t comprehend the fact that we have all been here three months now.  This being the case, I am going to give you the run down on what my experience has been during that time.

neilprofile

When the residency started I hit the ground running in late September/early October  about a week after our move in-date.  I had to start moving fast as I had a show set up for First Fridays in October at the SeedCo Gallery located at 2016 Main St.  I reinstalled my show, “The Human RACE,” that had just been shown at the Cider Gallery in Lawrence, KS for Final Fridays in August.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Following that show, I also had a piece due in mid-October to a traveling show in New Mexico.  The show is called, “Fiber Rocks!” and was a show paying homage to the Mesa Prieta Petroglyphs in the Northern part of the state as well as the states’ rich textile history.  Everyone toured the petroglyphs and made a piece of art based on their experience at the site as well as the history of the space.  The show is traveling from Española to Santa Fe to Taos over the next couple of months.  I am terribly excited to go to the reception in Santa Fe in early January (Janurary 8th).  The piece that I created for the show is handwoven hemp canvas that was naturally dyed.  I then painted on top using homemade charcoal ink.  I painted the sculptural canvas on both sides.  One side consists of a fantastical life story I created by composing imagery found on site at Mesa Prieta.  For this story, I focused on life at Mesa Prieta before Spanish introduction.  On the second side I painted a story of current day America using both symbols from Mesa Prieta as well as popular images and symbols found in contemporary life here in the states.

After finishing the piece for Fiber Rocks! I slowed down a bit in the studio as I was co-teaching a wood-fired ceramics class with Sam Holloway at the Lawrence Arts Center in Lawrence, KS.  It was an amazing experience and time with the students.  We fired three kilns together.  A wood/soda hybrid, train kiln and a wood/salt noborigama-style kiln.  Much like all atmospheric firings, we had great successes and great failures.  It is a highly addictive process that sends you through a lifetime of emotions in the course of 2-7 days, the time it takes to fire an atmospheric kiln.  We are gearing up to fire the train kiln again in early Janurary.  I have been gearing up for this firing and getting work ready as I am preparing for a KU Ceramics Alumni show that will be at the Plenum Space Gallery in Kansas City during NCECA in March of 2016.

kiln

After the wood-fire class I jumped right into an installation that I put in at BadSeed, an amazing local farmer’s market in Westport.  I displayed 4 recent weavings on their brightly colored walls, a salon-style presentation of some works from the Mindless series as well as a central installation focusing on the fragility of human nature.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve also been busy with lots of little side-projects like working on two new bodies of work.  I’ll include a couple of photographs here of some examples of the work in its early state.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally, I’ve been getting focused on Peter and the Wolf.  I’ll be redoing the set design/production for the Lawrence Arts Center’s presentation of the story on the 29th, 30th and 31st of January.  I’ve been weaving birch trees and processing hand dug clay for the foundations of the home, fence and meadow.

PW8

I have had a wonderful 3 months here in Kansas City at the Charlotte Street Foundation and wouldn’t change anything about my experience thus far.  Maybe other than being able to just live in the studio.  That would be nice.  The community of artists and supporters has been amazing.  I can’t wait for 2016 to come around.  I am highly anticipating months of beauty.  Thank you kindly for your time and I’ll see you around the digital waves.

Live and Dye Naturally,

Neil Goss

About liveanddyenaturally

Neil Goss lives in Lawrence, KS where he concentrates his work around natural Earth processes while responding to human impacts upon those processes. In 2012 he received two BFA's in Design with concentrations in Textiles and Ceramics from the University of Kansas School of the Arts. Goss has focused the last 5 years of his life to researching and practicing sustainable arts processes such as natural dyeing, weaving (backstrap weaving), utilizing hand dug clay, and foraging art materials. Goss has taught workshops, completed public art installations and done artist talks from coast to coast in the United States. He currently is a practicing professional artist, artist-in-residence at the Charlotte Street Foundation in Kansas City, MO and teaches pottery and natural dyeing at the Lawrence Arts Center.

One comment on “First Quarter Reflection

  1. jdoublep
    January 4, 2016

    Reblogged this on Devious Bloggery.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Charlotte Street Foundation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,427 other followers

