CHARLOTTE STREET FOUNDATION STUDIO RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Charlotte Street Foundation identifies the needs and fuels the evolution of an ever-changing multidisciplinary arts ecosystem, acting as its primary provocateur. We cultivate the contemporary, the exceptional, and the unexpected in the practice of artists working in and engaging with the Kansas City Art Community

First Major Writing Project: completed!

09_Meier

Hot off the laptop of Will Meier:

During my UCP intro artist presentation some of you may remember me mentioning my first major project of the residency concerning the artwork of James Turrell. The artist has long been an extremely influential figure for my work, so in August I travelled to all three of his concurrent retrospectives.

This writing piece, which took more money, time, and difficulty compositing than any other I’ve undertaken, touches on those exhibitions, the Spencer Museum’s Gard Blue, and a few other works, generally aiming to reconcile a complexly layered variety of reactions I’ve felt as a viewer.

It’s weird–a style of writing I have never really tapped into that isn’t quite criticism or any other exclusive genre–but it feels very fresh and authentic, and I’m excited to explore this sort of flavor more over the course of the coming year.

Let me know what you think! Feel free to comment here, on my website, or email me at willmeierart@gmail.com. I’d love any feedback about the writing itself or the content it addresses.

If you missed the link above, the writing can be found at:  http://willmeierart.com/turrell/

Happy reading!

One comment on “First Major Writing Project: completed!

  1. melneet
    November 12, 2013

    I don’t know if I’ll get a chance to get to Lawrence before exhibit leaves, but I was impressed by your very strongly felt reactions to color and space. And the idea that laughter can sound like a cathedral.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2013 by in News, Will Meier, Writers.

Charlotte Street Foundation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,427 other followers

