CHARLOTTE STREET FOUNDATION STUDIO RESIDENCY PROGRAM

Charlotte Street Foundation identifies the needs and fuels the evolution of an ever-changing multidisciplinary arts ecosystem, acting as its primary provocateur. We cultivate the contemporary, the exceptional, and the unexpected in the practice of artists working in and engaging with the Kansas City Art Community

Laura Isaac

“I make art to work through questions I have; I am an artist to make myself uncomfortable. I view the complete art project as not only a single object or event but also the interactions and reactions of those who experience the art; all aspects taken together make the work complete. I have a passion for all-consuming long-term projects which blend visual art and performance allowing the audience to drop in and out as they wish, following along on the journey. Currently I am two years into a ten-year long visual/performative project called 10,000 Hours in which I’m exploring the theory that it takes ten thousand hours of directed practice to become a master at something; in this case knitting. I post my experiences through social media outlets, I regularly update my website and blog, I show various aspects of the work in traditional art venues and galleries, and give presentations and talks about the process. It is a life-changing project that allows me to dig into the subjective experience of the learning process and how it can shape our identities.”

Artist’s website

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 14, 2013 by in Laura Isaac, Visual Artists.

Charlotte Street Foundation

1-816-221-5115

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,428 other followers

